Phillies vs. Yankees – World Series Breakdown

Hey, what do you know?  It’s raining in New York.  But not to worry because the rain is supposed to subside before first pitch…at least that’s the hope.  So as I sit here this morning pondering the World Series, I really cannot come to a definitive conclusion on who will win this matchup.  So I figured I’d just break things down to see if it will help….here goes.

Starting Pitching:  You couldn’t ask for a better game one matchup than C.C. Sabathia and Cliff Lee.  But this isn’t about breaking down one game, it’s about the rotation.  The Yankees will be featuring Sabathia, AJ Burnett, Andy Pettitte and TBD (at least that’s what Joe Girardi wants us to believe).  The Phillies will counter with Lee, Pedro Martinez, Cole Hamels and Joe Blanton.  I really like the fact that the Phillies have guys that have pitched in the American League (Lee, Martinez & Blanton), which I think goes a long way in throwing out whatever “intimidation” factor there may be.  The problem is that of those three only Martinez (11-11, 3.20 ERA) has fared well in his career against the Pinstripers, Lee (4-4, 5.02 ERA) and Blanton (0-3, 8.18 ERA) have not.  Sabathia has redefined “ace” this post-season while Burnett has shown glimpses of “getting it” and Pettitte is as good as his career numbers indicate when pitching in October.  ADVANTAGE: YANKEES

Bullpens:  We were all led to believe that the Yankees really didn’t have any questions in their bullpen going into the post-season because of the defined roles and the numbers those guys put up.  But in October, it has been a different story for the crew that includes Phil Coke, Damaso Marte, Dave Robertson, Alfredo Aceves, Joba Chamberlain and Phil Hughes.  Mariano Rivera is in a world all his own and shouldn’t be lumped in…but I digress.  For the Phillies, it’s been a question mark all season long.  Everyone knows that Brad Lidge blew a Major League-leading 11 saves, but he has been better in October.  The addition of Brett Myers to the Phillies World Series roster will help neutralize some righties.  Regardless of what I say about the Phillies ‘pen (and it was a very good show that can still be found on occasion on MLB Network), it just won’t measure up to Rivera…Mo, by himself, changes the dynamic of this category.  ADVANTAGE: YANKEES

Infield:  The talk with the Yankees has been how good their infield is because of the addition of Mark Teixeira.  I agree and not only because of this year, but because I saw him for a number of years in Texas progressively get better on the defensive side of the game.  But this isn’t about one man, regardless of how good he’s been.  This is position by position and I think the Phillies stack up just as well as the Yankees.  For what you may lose in the head-to-head battle at first base with Ryan Howard, the Phililes gain at 2B with Chase Utley (even with his hiccups this off-season) and at SS with Jimmy Rollins.  Third base, for me, is a pick-em position…both Alex Rodriguez and Pedro Feliz are a wash for me defensively although I think that Feliz has one of the most powerful, accurate arms in the game at 3B.  ADVANTAGE: PHILLIES

Outfield:  Johnny Damon, Melky Cabrera and Nick Swisher make up the Yankees trio patrolling the outfield and as good as Swisher’s faux-hawk looks going into this series, I think these guys lose out to the Phillies.  Raul Ibanez, Shane Victorino and Jason Werth easily outdistance the Yankees because of their overall athleticism, range and most importantly, because of their ARMS.  ADVANTAGE: PHILLIES

Catchers:  As seasoned a veteran as Jorge Posada may be and as good as Jose Molina has worked with AJ Burnett, I just don’t think it stacks up against the work Carlos Ruiz has put up of late.  Sure, Posada is a guy that hit .285 with 22 bombs this season but he’s been limited defensively for a couple of years now and he has been somewhat exploited with the running game.  Ruiz has stepped up huge with the defensive part of his game, he can limit the running game and his offense seems to rear its head in the post-season.  Most importantly, Ruiz handles that entire staff with ease.  ADVANTAGE: PHILLIES

Bench:  I think in this World Series, more than ever, the benches may be a moot point.  Both teams are extremely deep and talented with their everyday lineup.  Eric Hinske gets added to the Yankees roster and that makes sense, in that they already have two guys that can run in Brett Gardner and Jerry Hairston.  For the Phils, it’s about Matt Stairs and Greg Dobbs…along with unassisted triple play man Eric Bruntlett.  ADVANTAGE: PICK ‘EM WITH A SLIGHT TILT TOWARDS PHILLIES BECAUSE OF USE IN N.L.

Managers:  A couple of years ago, people in Philadelphia wanted Charlie Manuel’s head on a platter.  Today, with a World Series title under his belt, he’s beloved.  It’s amazing what winning can do to change the mindset.  Sure Charlie has his quirky style and lingo all his own, but he knows that clubhouse extremely well and relates with his roster.  Joe Girardi is under the gun…but then again, so is any manager that puts on the pinstripes.  With Joe though, he understands it because he’s played in New York and knows what the ultimate job is…WIN.  Girardi has had a tendency to “over-manage/think” things in the post-season.  If he eliminates all of the ancillary distractions (and that 3-ring folder of his) and just manages to his ability, I really think he can be one of the better managers around.  ADVANTAGE: PHILLIES

Intagibles:  With the American League winning the All-Star Game (woo-hoo, one of my favorite topics of discussion), the Yankees have the home-field advantage.  You take the fact that they were the best team in baseball, play extremely well at home and are in the World Series for the first time since 2003, the Yankees have some motivation to bring this one home.  For the Phillies, it’s about repeating as World Champions.  No easy task, but they also understand what it takes to get the brass ring (or in this case, 18K gold ring with hundreds of diamonds in it).  ADVANTAGE: YANKEES

There you have it, my breakdown of the World Series.  What does it all mean?  Absolutely nothing…this is just one toolbox’ opinion.  But I did say that this exercise might help me decide on who’s going to win it all.  It really hasn’t helped one damn bit, but I will make a prediction.  I’ll preface this by saying that this year has allowed me the opportunity to better “understand” Yankee fans and their passion for their team as well as the game.  And I say that because it’s helped me judge the Yankees a little more objectively than I have in the past.  As for the Phillies…my old man played for the Fightin’s in the ’60’s and was part of the 1964 collapse…so I’m somewhat partial to that team just because of history/family.

ALL things being considered (I really have no clue), I’m going to go with the PHILLIES in 6 games.  Don’t ask me how I came to that conclusion.  I think these two teams stack up extremely well and from a baseball perspective, I hope it goes 7 games and it ends in a tie…but that’s not reality.  You can pick either team (ONLY if you don’t live in either Philly or New York City) and not be wrong…it’s a pretty good split and I’m looking forward to it.  I hope you are as well.

Enjoy the World Series…I know I will (even if it means getting crushed by Yankee fans now).

Just livin’ the dream…
VR

Leave a comment